News Blog‎ > ‎


posted Jan 18, 2011, 8:24 PM by Massey Kouhssari   [ updated Jan 18, 2011, 8:25 PM ]
Guaranteed Rural Housing Loan Program 
United States Department of Agriculture Rural Development 
The Guaranteed Rural Housing loan program may be used to 
finance properties located in rural areas.  Rural is defined as any
town of 25,000 or less that is not adjacent to a large city or that 
is not part of a continuous urban area.   
Since California is a large state with many small towns, a listing of all eligible rural towns 
would take several pages.  Therefore, the listing below is intended to give an overview of 
eligible rural areas in each county.  This listing is of towns where the rural population is 
the largest and most concentrated and where there is the most activity of USDA GRH 
Also, please note that there are 20 counties in California that are completely eligible for 
the GRH loan program.  Those counties are listed on the third page of this handout. 
The list below is only a partial listing of the many small communities 
eligible to participate in the Guaranteed Rural Housing loan program.  Maps 
of eligible and ineligible areas are available at the following website:  
Butte  El Dorado (cont.)  Fresno (cont.)  Humboldt (cont.) 
Biggs  Placerville  Orange Cove  Rio Dell 
Durham Pollock Pines Parlier Scotia
Gridley Shingle Springs Reedley
Palmero Riverdale
San Joaquin Imperial
Fresno Selma Brawley
Contra Costa  Auberry Squaw Valley Calipatria
Byron  Biola Heber
Caruthers Holtville 
Coalinga Humboldt Imperial 
El Dorado  Easton Arcata Seeley
Cameron Park  Firebaugh  Ferndale  Westmoreland 
Coloma Fowler Fortuna
Diamond Springs  Huron  Garberville 
El Dorado Hills  Kerman  Hydesville  Kern
Georgetown Kingsburg Loleta Arvin
Grizzly Flats  Mendota  McKinleyville  California City 
  California Eligible Rural Areas